Utah Satellites Zoom into GigaPan

"I cannot tell you how excited I am," wrote Kerstin Bolton, a teacher from North Elementary school in Cedar City that participated at a GigaPan workshop at Southern Utah University this November. Bolton used the GigaPan website the next morning in her classroom. "I used a picture of Rome to start our discussion for our lesson. Every one of my students was engaged in the conversation and in awe of the details they could see when we zoomed in on the picture. They are very eager to create their own GigaPan picture!"

At the workshop, members of the Marshall University CREATE Lab Satellite shared GigaPan techniques and practices with teams from the new Satellites at Utah Valley University and Southern Utah University and some of the partners they support. The new Satellites will be offering professional development, support and GigaPan equipment lending library to the educators they serve. This work is made possible by generous support from Infosys Foundation USA

Read on to hear what some of the participants had to say and check out some of their great work: 

Bill Heyborne of Southern Utah University - "The opportunities for using this technology for engaging our students is endless. We anticipate tremendous usage in the coming months and years," said Heyborne, who leads the Satellite at Southern Utah University. "The faculty from the SUU Center for Teaching and Learning are very excited to begin using GigaPan in our professional development activities, as well as with our own University students."/p>


Southern Utah University Upper Quad by Bill Heyborne (SUU) 

Kerstin Bolton of North Elementary - "The training on the GigaPan was highly engaging. The hands-on component, as well as the printed directions and support, from trainers made learning the process of setting up and utilizing the GigaPan a breeze. To further enhance the training there were several in-depth conversations discussing applications of the GigaPan, resources, and website. I was able to immediately return to school the next day and not only access but utilize the resources which were available. My students were highly engaged and excited at new learning opportunities. "


SUU College Of Education Stained Glass by Krista Ruggles (UVU)

Jackie Grant of Southern Utah University - "Because I am a part of the Southern Utah University Semester in the Parks program, I was exceptionally interested in learning how to use Gigapan technology from the CREATE team. We take our students to national parks all over the region, which gives us a phenomenal opportunity to use Gigapan to introduce students to each park's unique resources. After a day of working with the CREATE team, I felt confident about using the equipment and integrating it in my courses."


Alisa Petersen of Southern Utah University - "I loved the GigaPan training. It was great to be able to explore the website and talk about it as a group of educators. I was not surprised at how many really different and interesting ideas the participants had about how to use the online resources with different student populations. I also enjoyed getting to use the technology. I felt that the written directions about how to prepare the camera settings and assemble the camera, tripod, and GigaPan were so thorough and helpful. I was pleased with how easy the stitch software was to use.

I have lots of ideas for using GigaPan and introducing it to teachers and students in our area. I am planning to teach an introductory session at the statewide Utah Art Educators Conference in February for K-12 arts teachers. In the summer I will host a two day workshop at SUU for elementary classroom teachers and arts teachers about how to use GigaPan and Visual Thinking Strategies.

I'm even finding all kind of applications for GigaPan on campus at SUU. Just today I recommended the GigaPan website to an honors professor who is teaching a freshman cohort in SUU's Jumpstart program. They are studying National Parks this year. I think GigaPan is a perfect tool for them."


Outside Roots of Knowledge by Susy Cox (UVU)